Transitions 

Wednesday, I got some exciting as well as anxiety-producing news from AAC…her, and the rest of my treatment team decided that next week will be my last week of PHP! From there I will transition to IOP where I attend the program from 9 am to 1 pm instead of the full day from 8 am to 3 pm. I’m pretty excited about the idea of sleeping in a little bit 🙂

However, I am also extremely nervous! For a loooong time, I’ve been in either 24/7 care or a full day program. I’ve basically forgotten what it’s like to not spend my whole day at treatment. It’s scary to think about the fact that I’ll be on my own a lot more. I’m going to have more challenges and new experiences. I’ll have to do breakfast and my afternoon snack on my own instead of at PHP without the schedule and meal support. It’s certainly intimidating to think about doing that. I’ll have more choices in my own hands. No one will be there to tell me to eat, but instead, that will be my choice.

But, I honestly have so much trust in my team and especially my therapist AAC. They’ve been looking out for me so much since day one. They believe in me so much and never gave up on me. They see all the skills I’ve learned and how much progress I’ve made. One of my favorite things is that they also push me to see my own progress and to acknowledge it. I’ve learned a lot about my challenges and about myself. I know deep down that I will be able to work hard in IOP and eventually graduate from IDC. (I know I’ll definitely cry that day…).

I’m not moving to PHP yet though so I’m just going to try my best to make the most out of my remaining time at PHP and to just feel excited about my progress. #TeamRecovery #ThatWasDorkySorry

Leave a Reply

