True Beauty

Proverbs 31:30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord will be praised.

I love finding verses that speak to me regarding my recovery, particularly my recovery from my eating disorder. The aforementioned verse is important to me because it makes me ponder who I really want to be vs. who my eating disorder wants me to be.

An eating disorder, particularly anorexia, heavily weighs extreme thinness as the most important thing in your life. It controls your calories, exercise, clothing size, etc. It doesn’t give any thought towards God. Anorexia or any other eating disorder becomes the “God” of the sufferer. You begin to become enthralled within the lies of the ED.

But, the Bible tells us that “a woman who fears the Lord will be praised.” Fear of the Lord can sound somewhat dramatic or almost negative. However, to me, fear of the Lord is really about respecting Him and honoring who He desires us to become.

Personally, I believe that I am God’s child as He intended when I am compassionate, kind, loving, sincere, honest, humble, and giving. When I do these things I feel better about myself, and I can actually feel God’s love surrounding me.

The verse says that we will be praised. I definitely can see this in my own life, as well as in the lives of other girls I’ve met through recovery. When we are our best versions of ourselves and our actions show our fear of the Lord, then others can see that, and they are drawn to those works. Others, if they are quality people, value more when we are following God’s word of brotherly/sisterly love.

So, I am going to continue trying hard to not put values towards beauty, unless it’s in the beauty of God!

Leave a Reply

