What Am I Grateful For? Happy Thanksgiving 2K15!

Happy Thanksgiving, to my readers in the US! I hope you have had a wonderful holiday filled with love and gratitude.

Recently, I posted a quick list of 20 things I am grateful for. Today I wanted to, even if it’s a bit cheesy…, really spend some time to elaborate on what I am grateful for. It has been quite a year since last Thanksgiving and I feel the need to acknowledge that and really give thanks. Last year I was at TK for the first time. It was the worst Thanksgiving imaginable and I am infinitely glad that this year is different.


 

The People – One of the first things I have to say a HUGE thank you to is the people in my life. I could not have survived any of my struggle with my ED, depression, etc. without the people I have to support me. My TK and IDC girls have become some of my best and closest friends. These girls have seen me at my absolutely worst/darkest and they still love me. As always, a special shoutout to MB for being my TK/IDC best friend for LIFE! (Ahaha…seriously..it felt like a lifetime there). My friend, little “sis”, and fellow recovery warrior EH has helped me so much this past year. Without her, I have no idea where I would be. We have been through hell and back with each other…but we are still friends and we have made it through. LCM, my best friend and sister, she is a better best friend than I could ever dream of having. She is the kind of friend who drives hours to visit you in the hospital and comes to “Family Day” at your treatment center to support you. She is funny, smart, loving, and I am so excited to see her Saturday.

I could go on and on, naming names, and thanking specific people. This past year I have truly been shown the abundance of supportive people I have in my life. Thank you SO MUCH to everyone who has helped me. Words will never be enough to tell you how grateful I am.

 

Pepper – Pets are amazing things and I can no longer imagine my life without this little guy. The second time I left the hospital, shortly after, my mom told me that she would agree to buying me a chinchilla. Of course, I was excited, but I did not think it would impact me the way it has. Having Pepper means that I have a constant support. Sure, he is not able to talk to me, but whenever I am stressed, lonely, sad, struggling, etc. I can spend time with him. I am so so so happy that I get to be his mommy. I can lose motivation with my depression, but having him means I have something that requires me to get out of bed, since he needs to be fed, exercised, etc. He is just a cutie pie and I love him immensely.

Treatment Centers – Alright, current Lil is laughing so hard at past Lil. Past Lil NEVER would have admitted her gratitutude for these places. However, I know that without TK and IDC…I would not be alive. I met so many amazing staff members, nurses, therapists, etc. at both of these places. Currently, I still work with my dietitian and therapist from IDC. They are crucial parts of my recovery and I am so thankful to have their support. Also, without my time spent at TK and IDC, I probably would never have figured out I want to be a social worker.

Others things – I am grateful that I fell in love with painting. It is such a blast and one of my most effective coping skills. I have so much fun with it and I am happy I can enjoy it even if I am not amazing at it.

I am grateful for God and His love. I am so happy that this year in recovery has brought me to a place where I can regain faith in my life. My life is filled with so much joy when I turn to Him for support.

I am grateful that I now have complete freedom to listen to Christmas music since Thanksgiving is past. In fact, I am listening to Christmas music while writing this post! My current favorite is the James Taylor Holiday channel on Pandora.

I am grateful to be recovering. It is a long and difficult journey…and I can honestly say I never want to go back to my eating disorder. Some days, I want to throw the towel in, but I know that it is worth it.

I am grateful that people actually read my blog! Some people have even subscribed! I would write regardless, I just enjoy having an outlet, but it does make me feel good knowing that people take the time to read what I spend time writing. Thank you, L&R readers, y’all are awesome 🙂


 

And, now on to Christmas! WAHOO! I am so excited for decorations, cookie baking, buying my loved ones presents, family/friend time, etc.

Of course, most importantly, I am looking forward to celebrating the birth of Jesus 🙂

Happy Holidays, everyone!

Leave a Reply

