Christmas Recap

I had a really lovely Christmas this year 🙂 Last year, I was in residential treatment at TK and my Christmas was much different. I sat in an overly crowded dining hall with M, D and bro. We made awkward conversation while trying to create some semblance of a real holiday. It was such a horrible Christmas and I am so thankful to be home this year. It was nice to relax, spend time with family and friends, and celebrate the birth of Christ Jesus!

As per tradition, I saw M’s side of the family on Christmas Eve. We always go over to my aunt/uncle’s house and spend the evening with them. The whole family does a gift exchange so that is always fun. On Christmas day, we went over to my grandma’s condo in the afternoon after opening presents at home. My grandma always makes everything so nice and I love spending time with her. This year, I handmade a gift for her (thank you Pinterest!) and it was such a simple process to make it. It looked beautiful and she loved it. I am not exactly a craft type person so I am glad it turned out successfully!FullSizeRender.jpgThe shadowbox I made for my grandma 🙂

Pepper and I got to spend our first real Christmas together! I possibly definitely spoiled him a ton this year. Previously, Pepper had a really crappy cage we bought when I initially got him. I asked Santa to bring him a Critter Nation cage. The cage is two stories and taller than I am! (Not that I am that tall…). I am having so much fun watching him explore his new abode and I am sure that I will be filling it with more and more toys soon enough. It is so fun to be a (chinchilla) mom on Christmas and see how happy he is with his new gifts. I just love being able to put energy into making sure he is happy. IMG_5093.JPGMe and Pepper in front of his new giant cage 🙂

I was also given some other lovely gifts including the new illustrated Harry Potter. If you are a big HP fan then I highly recommend the book. The illustrations are stunning and perfectly capture the magical feeling of the HP world. I was awe-struck reading it…it is just MAGICAL! 

On the 26th,  my best friend LCM came and visited me. Every year, we have had a tradition where we get together sometime around Christmas. Last year, we did not get a chance to do so and it was pretty lame. We went to Papersource and Anthropologie followed by dinner at an amazing restaurant. It was so much fun and I always love seeing her.

For me, this year, the best part of my Christmas this year has been my personal reconnection with the true meaning of Christmas. I have written before about how regaining strength in my faith has been the key to my recovery and I am so grateful to have a day where I am reminded of the gift I was given through Christ. Without Him I do not know where I would be. In my faith, I am told that I have been forgiven and that I am loved so dearly by Him. “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

Leave a Reply

