Strength and Courage – Motivation Monday

courage-strength-quotes

“Perhaps strength doesn’t reside in never having been broken, but in the courage to grow strong in the broken places”


The above is my favorite quote of all time. KBE shared it with me back in 2011 during a particularly challenging night. I quickly memorized the quote and I come back to it again and again.

In my opinion, we live in a society where there is a lot of pressure to see strength as never getting hurt or breaking down. We ask people, “how are you?” daily but…a lot of time it is more of a formality then anything else. Let me tell you, that is a load of BS! For around 20 years, I lived thinking that I was strong for not letting anyone see how deeply I was struggling. I began struggling with my mental health at age 12-13 but I lived in silence apart from a select few. Perhaps, it is an extreme example, but holding all of that in only led to me becoming much worse and then almost losing my life (dramatic but also true).

In my 21 (almost 22 heyyy!) short years, I have come to believe that this quote is so incredibly true. We are all broken, in one way or another, and no one goes through this world without struggling at times. We are all human. It can be so terrifying to be vulnerable because we risk being hurt. However, looking back, hiding my pain did not make me feel any ounce of strength. I felt beat down, lonely, and weak. Taking the leap to open up took a LONG time. Ask KBE, I used to barely talk to her, I am not exaggerating. We would sit in awkward silence during conversations.

However, I am now pushing myself to be vulnerable and I feel strong when I realize that I can acknowledge my pain, face it, and then still keep going. I love the part where the quote talks about courage. I do believe that it takes a lot of courage to “grow strong in the broken places”. We can feel so beat down and incapable of moving forward. I have found, time and time again, in my life and others lives that we ALWAYS have much more strength in ourselves than we initially think.


This is my 50th blog post! I am really enjoying writing and it’s been so good for my mental health to write again.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

