Calligraphy/Hand Lettering -My Life Monday #1

I am so excited to finally be writing this post! Back in early October 2016, I stopped at Michael’s craft store to pick up some supplies for a Halloween party I was hosting. On a whim, I grabbed a calligraphy set because it seemed like something that would be fun to learn. When I first began, it was incredibly difficult, and it could be very frustrating. The instruction booklet was confusing at times, and I was having a really hard time being able to get variation between the size of the lines. With calligraphy, the downstrokes are meant to be thick, and the upstrokes are intended to be thin. I kept practicing, though, and I did make some progress.

Other ways I improved were by following calligraphy/hand lettering Instagram accounts and YouTube videos. The internet has so many excellent resources! If you are interested in learning that I suggest you look up tutorials and examples on both of those platforms. You can also find a lot of free worksheets where you can practice forming letters. Remember the worksheets you did in elementary school? They are like those for adults. πŸ™‚

Looking back, the pens I started with just are not ones that I personally enjoy using. I now own a variety of markers/pens, and I am definitely starting to learn what I like and dislike in a pen/marker. You can also find a lot of great informative reviews on markers and pens online.

I have recently taken over my brother’s desk and turned it into my space to work. I needed a second bookshelf in my room, so there is no room for a desk. My brother lives in his own apartment so he will not mind.

fullsizerender-2

My set up 

So, this looks really nice and clean. Hopefully, it stays that way. I sometimes get really into creating, and my space gets messy because I focus more on what I am making than putting things back nicely.

fullsizerender-5

What I like to letter with

Patience is not one of my best qualities, and I like to learn how to do things quickly. However, this requires a lot of patience and frequently a lot of repetition. You have to write letters over and over again before you can even think of trying to write letters. It is cool to see your progress, though, and I enjoy comparing my beginning alphabets to my more recent ones.

Here are some of the things I have made πŸ™‚

I absolutely love learning how to do modern calligraphy and hand lettering. It is very fun, and it helps me get my mind of off things when I am having a hard time or experiencing urges to use any sort of behavior. I enjoy doing things that are creative, and it is fun to make things for my friends. I am so excited to keep working and learning more about lettering! πŸ™‚

I have an Instagram account where I occasionally post my new creations. Feel free to follow it if you would like. 

Leave a Reply

